## MINUTES OF THE SPELTHORNE BOROUGH COUNCIL

Minutes of the Extraordinary Council Meeting of Spelthorne Borough Council held in the Council Chamber, Council Offices, Knowle Green, Staines-upon-Thames on Tuesday, 2 February 2016 at 7.30 pm

#### Present:

## Councillors:

K. Flurry	M.J. Madams
P.C. Forbes-Forsyth	A.J. Mitchell
M.P.C. Francis	S.C. Mooney
C.M. Frazer	A. Neale
A.E. Friday	D. Patel
N.J. Gething	J.M. Pinkerton OBE
A.L. Griffiths	O. Rybinski
A.C. Harman	D. Saliagopoulos
I.T.E. Harvey	R.A. Smith-Ainsley
A.T. Jones	B.B. Spoor
J.G. Kavanagh	H.R.D. Williams
	P.C. Forbes-Forsyth M.P.C. Francis C.M. Frazer A.E. Friday N.J. Gething A.L. Griffiths A.C. Harman I.T.E. Harvey A.T. Jones

Miss Sue Faulkner, the Vice-Chairman of the Members' Code of Conduct Committee was also in attendance

# Apologies: Apologies were received from Councillors S. Capes, N. Islam,

V.J. Leighton, Mr Murray Litvak, J.R. Sexton, R.W. Sider BEM and H.A. Thomson and Mr Murray Litvak, Chairman of the

Members' Code of Conduct Committee.

Councillor M.P.C. Francis, The Mayor, in the Chair

## 21/16 Disclosures of Interest

There were no disclosures of interest.

# 22/16 The removal of the Leader of the Council

It was moved by Councillors N. Gething, H.R. Williams, A.E. Friday, C.M. Frazer and R.O. Barratt and seconded by Councillor S.C. Mooney, that

Councillor Quentin Edgington be removed from Office as the Leader of the Council.

In accordance with Standing Order 22.4, Councillor I.J. Beardsmore called for a recorded vote to be taken on the motion before the Council.

Councillors Gething and Frazer spoke in support of the motion and explained the reasons behind the proposal:

- It was an established convention that the leader of the largest elected group is the Leader of the Council
- Councillor Edgington had lost the support of the conservative group
- He has resigned his membership of the majority group and stands as an Independent councillor.

Councillor Q. Edgington responded to the points made and concluded his speech by resigning from his position as Leader of the Council, forthwith.

Councillor Edgington then left the Chamber and the Mayor called for a five minute adjournment of the meeting.

As a result of the resignation of the Leader, a vote on the motion was not necessary.

### 23/16 The election of the Leader of the Council

It was moved by Councillors N. Gething, H.R. Williams, A.E. Friday, C.M. Frazer and R.O. Barratt and seconded by Councillor A.C Harman that Councillor Ian Harvey be appointed as the new Leader of the Council.

In accordance with Standing Order 22.4, Councillor A.C. Harman called for a recorded vote to be taken on the motion before the Council.

The voting was as follows:

For	Councillors Attewell, Barnard, Barratt, Chandler, Davis, Evans,
	Flurry, Francis, Frazer, Friday, Gething, Griffiths, Harman,
	Harvey, Jones, Kavanagh, Madams, Mitchell, Mooney, Neale,
	Patel, Pinkerton, Rybinski, Saliagopoulos, Smith-Ainsley and
	Williams.
Against	-
Abstain	Councillors Beardsmore, Doran, Dunn and Spoor.

**RESOLVED** that Councillor I.T.E. Harvey be appointed Leader of the Council for the remainder of the four year term of office until the day of the Annual Council Meeting following the borough elections in 2019.